Whether you are planning on heading to Hunter Mountain for some skiing or to catch a show on Broadway, you may want to know what to expect if you ever receive a New York traffic ticket. Since each state has different laws about out-of-state traffic tickets, here is some information you might like to know.
Both New York and New Jersey signed the Driver’s License Compact. This means NY and NJ share driver information with one another. If you are convicted of a NY traffic offense but are a NJ driver, NJ will be notified about the ticket you received.
According to N.J.S.A. 39:5D-4 (and the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission), out-of-state moving violations are usually worth 2 points. This means that if the offense you got a ticket for is recognized in New Jersey, 2 points will be added onto your NJ driving record. Therefore, whether you were cited for reckless driving in New York, speeding, or for driving with a suspended license, you will have 2 points put on your NJ driver’s license. Note that no state can require you to pay a double fine, so you will only have to pay the state in which you were issued your ticket. So if you got a NY traffic ticket, you will need to pay the State of New York.
Be forewarned that if you are an out-of-state driver and accrue 11 points or more, you will lose your New York driving privileges. This accumulation of 11 points will be determined based on the New York point system, not your home state’s point system. Thus, if you are found guilty of speeding 41 miles over the posted speed limit or get convicted twice for speeding 21-30 miles over the limit, you will no longer be allowed to drive in the State of New York for a specified duration of time. Your driver’s license will not be suspended by your home state and NY does not have the authority to suspend an out-of-state driver’s license. However, since NJ and NY are both members of the Driver’s License Compact, NJ will honor the “suspension” of your New York driving privileges even though it will not take away your ability to drive elsewhere.
Note that if you are convicted of a NY traffic ticket for an offense (or set of offenses) that amounts to 6 or more points under New York’s point system, you will also be required to pay a Driver Responsibility Assessment (DRA). This applies regardless of whether you are a NJ driver or you are licensed in NY.