Using Your Lawyer as a Therapist

Since I practice matrimonial law, I am no stranger to clients who are emotional and want to vent against their soon-to-be-exes. If you do it from time to time, I will try my best to listen to you and help if I can. However, as a lawyer my job is not to be someone’s sounding board or a “friendly ear.” I am also not a psychologist, marriage counselor, or a therapist. I am not trained to give advice on how to deal with depression or anger.

Using your lawyer as a therapist is just not a good idea. Talk to someone better equipped to help you with your emotional needs, such as a therapist, rabbi, minister, or priest, even a trustworthy friend or family member. Your lawyer will listen to you but you will be charged for that time; which means that you will be paying your lawyer to listen to your non-legal problems that have no bearing on your case and can only detract from focusing on your actual legal needs.

Last but not least, subjecting your lawyer to your negative emotions could simply make him or her less objective and therefore less effective.

About teperlaw

I am an attorney practicing family law, immigration and wills and estate planning. You can find out more about me and my firm by visiting my website at: www.teperlaw.com 106 W. Franklin Ave. Pennington, NJ 08534 (609) 737-3030
This entry was posted in Family Law and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

